Images

Archive

Rainer • Kosmos

Arnulf Rainer

Several artworks that have never been shown in public before are part of the Rainer ٠ Cosmos exhibition and thus facilitate a focused view on the comprehensive oeuvre of the exceptional Austrian artist. Selected works from four decades present Arnulf Rainer’s cosmos in a far more complex, colourful and abundant way than the restriction to the position of the “overpainter” suggests.

The exhibition title refers to the circular paintings of the “Kosmos” series, which were created in the late 1980s. For the ancient Greeks, besides “jewellery” and “glamour” the word “cosmos” also signified “universe” and “world order”: Rainer ٠ Cosmos shows essential series ordered according to artistic strategies that allow for an in-depth view of the work and the image. The hanging corresponds to the architecture of the historic Frauenbad and explores the spectrum of the spatial possibilities of the museum between intimate encounter and spacious staging.

Among other things, the exhibition includes Arnulf Rainer‘s early “Abstractions” from the 1960s, which allow for an analysis of picture format and colour application. Large-format “overpaintings” from the late 1950s to the early 1970s show the brushwork alternating between contemplation and expression and exemplify the processual painterly development. The selection ranges from the subsequent expressively powerful finger paintings to the earthy “Geologica” paintings and the delicately coloured “veil paintings” from the 1990s. The former changing rooms of the Frauenbad are occupied by the over-drawn photographs of the series “Frauensprache” [Women’s Language] and “Schlangenfrauen” [Snake Women]. In addition, rare videos from Rainer’s performative work of the 1970s can be seen again. The beginning and end point of the exhibition is the distinctively dramatic work “Kistenwalhalla”, consisting of 27 death masks, embedded in custom-made wooden boxes that are sculptured in colour.

Curator: Helmut Friedel

Arnulf Rainer Museum

Museum

Josefsplatz 5
2500 Baden
Austria
Tel +43(0)2252 209 196 11
Fax +43(0)2252 209 196 14

Postal address

Badener Kulturbetriebsgesmbh
Kaiser Franz Josef-Ring 31
2500 Baden
Austria

Directions

Tram (Badener Bahn)

www.wlb.at
Direct, from the Vienna State Opera
to the Arnulf Rainer Museum, to
Josefplatz at the end of the line.

Train and rapid transit train

www.oebb.at
Four minutes on foot from Baden
station, towards the centre of town.

Car

A2 Baden exit – towards the centre,
Arnulf Rainer Museum / Frauenbad.
Parking at Römertherme or at the
Casino parking garage.

Googlemaps

Opening hours

Every day from 10am – 5pm

Contact us for more details.

Admission prices

Adults 6,–
Reduced 4,–
Groups of 6 or over,
per person
4,–
Children from 6 – 14,
pupils, students,
military discount (national service)
3,–
Family ticket 12,–
Family ticket reduced 10,–
Guided tour 2,50

Newsletter

Our newsletter keeps you up to date
with new exhibitions and events, as
well as tours and other museum
activities.
All data is treated confidentially.
By filling out and submitting this
form, you confirm that you have
read and consent to our
data privacy statement.

The newsletter can be cancelled at
any time.

Text
> Slideshow

Subscribe to our newsletter.

Our newsletter provides you with information about new exhibitions and events, as well as guided tours and other museum activities. Your data will be treated confidentially and will not be passed on to any other company or organisation.

By filling out and submitting this form, you confirm that you have read and consent to our data privacy statement.

You can revoke this consent at any time and unsubscribe from our newsletter.

Bilder

Archiv

Rainer • Kosmos

Arnulf Rainer

Die Ausstellung Rainer • Kosmos ermöglichte anhand einer Reihe bisher nicht öffentlich gezeigter Werke einen konzentrierten Blick auf das umfassende Oeuvre des österreichischen Ausnahmekünstlers. Ausgewählte Arbeiten aus vier Jahrzehnten präsentierten Arnulf Rainers Kosmos um ein Vielfaches komplexer, bunter und reichhaltiger, als es die Einschränkung auf die Position des „Übermalers“ nahelegt.

Der Titel der Ausstellung geht auf die kreisrunden Gemälde der „Kosmos“-Serie, die Ende der 1980er Jahre entstanden ist, zurück. Das Wort „Kosmos“ bedeutete den alten Griechen neben „Schmuck“ und „Glanz“ auch „Weltall“ und „Weltordnung“: Rainer ٠ Kosmos zeigte essenzielle Serien geordnet nach künstlerischen Strategien, die eine vertiefende Bild- und Werkbetrachtung ermöglichten.

Die Ausstellung umfasste unter Anderem Arnulf Rainers frühe „Abstraktionen“ aus den 1960er Jahren, sowie großformatige „Übermalungen“ der späten 1950er bis zum Anfang der 1970er Jahre. Von den in Folge entstandenen Fingermalereien in expressiver Stärke reicht die Auswahl bis zu erdigen „Geologica“-Gemälden und zartfarbigen „Schleierbildern“ der 1990er Jahre. Die ehemaligen Umkleidekabinen des Frauenbades sind mit überzeichneten Fotografien der Serien „Frauensprache“ und „Schlangenfrauen“ besetzt. Darüber hinaus werden auch rare Videos von Rainers performativer Arbeit der 1970er Jahre wieder zugänglich. Ausgangs- wie Endpunkt der Ausstellung bildet die einprägsam dramatische Arbeit „Kistenwalhalla“ bestehend aus 27, in eigens gefertigten Holzkisten gebettete, farbplastisch überarbeitete Totenmasken.

Kurator: Prof. Dr. Helmut Friedel

Arnulf Rainer Museum

Museum

Josefsplatz 5
2500 Baden
Österreich
Tel +43(0)2252 209 196 11
Fax +43(0)2252 209 196 14

Postanschrift

Badener Kulturbetriebsgesmbh
Kaiser Franz Josef-Ring 31
2500 Baden
Österreich

Anfahrt

Badener Bahn

www.wlb.at
Von der Wiener Staatsoper direkt
ins Arnulf Rainer Museum, End-
station Josefsplatz.

Zug und Schnellbahn

www.oebb.at
4 Min. zu Fuß von der Station
Baden Richtung Zentrum.

Auto

A2 Abfahrt Baden – Richtung
Zentrum, Arnulf Rainer Museum /
Frauenbad. Parkmöglichkeiten im
Parkdeck Römertherme oder im
Parkhaus Casino.

Googlemaps

Öffnungszeiten

Dienstag bis Sonntag
von 10.00 bis 17.00 Uhr.

Nähere Informationen bitte unter Kontakt anfordern.

Eintrittspreise

Erwachsene 6,–
Ermäßigt 4,–
Gruppen ab 6 Personen,
pro Person
4,–
Kinder von 6 bis 14 Jahren
Schüler, Studenten,
Präsenzdiener
3,–
FamilienKarte 12,–
FamilienKarte ermäßigt 10,–
Führungsticket 2,50

Newsletter

Bleiben Sie über neue Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen, sowie über Führungen und weitere Aktivitäten informiert.
Ihre Daten werden von uns ver-
traulich behandelt. Durch Aus-
füllen und Abschicken dieses
Formulars bestätigen Sie, dass Sie
unsere Datenschutzbestimmungen
gelesen haben und sich mit diesen
einverstanden erklären.

Den Newsletter können Sie jeder-
zeit wieder abbestellen.

Text
> Slideshow

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

Unser Newsletter informiert Sie über neue Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen, sowie über Führungen und weitere Aktivitäten vom Museum. Ihre Daten werden von uns vertraulich behandelt und nicht an Dritte weitergegeben.

Durch Ausfüllen und Abschicken dieses Formulars bestätigen Sie, dass sie unsere Datenschutzbestimmungen gelesen haben und sich mit diesen einverstanden erklären.

Diese Einwilligung können Sie jederzeit widerrufen und den Newsletter abbestellen.