Shop

CATALOGUES

For bibliophiles and independently-minded people. 
Guides, friends, colleagues, inspirations, Zeitgeist, art.

Our publications accompany and extend our programme of exhibitions. Every catalogue is a work of art in itself, and each offers the chance to immerse yourself once again in Arnulf Rainer's extensive imagery. The numerous texts written by the artist and curators allow you to closely engage with the work of this unique artist.

Arnulf Rainer

Metamorphosen [Repertoire]

‘There are (six) simple colours. The first of these is white although some philosophers count neither black nor white among the colours and assert that one is the origin of colours and the other their lack. But we include them because painters cannot get along without them and, having named white the first of the simple colours, call yellow the second, green the third, blue the fourth, red the fifth and black the sixth. And white stands for light without which one can see no colour, yellow for the earth, green for water, blue for the air, red for fire and black for darkness that stands above fire because there is no material there, nothing solid on which the rays of the sun might fall and, as a consequence, illuminate.’ 

With text by Helmut Friedel.

Ed. Arnulf Rainer Museum
152 pages
Baden 2017
ISBN: 978-3-200-05087-7

Preis: € 30,00

Arnulf Rainer

Metamorphosen [Repertoire]

Ed. Arnulf Rainer Museum & Lentos Kunstmuseum Linz
With text by Rudi Fuchs and Elisabeth Nowak-Thaller

216 pages
Baden 2017
ISBN: 978-3-200-05035-8

Preis: € 28,00

Markus Lüpertz / Arnulf Rainer

BILDENDE Kunst

The title of the exhibition draws attention to the fact that, considering the oeuvre of the two artists, it is factually correct to use the description, bildende Kunst. The German phrase contains layered meanings the most common being ‘visual art’. However, bildende also resonates with ‘educational’ ‘formative’ or ‘continutive’ all of which speaks to the stratified reception of the works of both Markus Lüpertz and Arnulf Rainer. In the exhibition the pictures will be ‘irritated’ by plastic forms and this orchestrated proximity of the genres allows the viewer to take a direct approach to the essence of art: the use of colour and material, the finding and employing of form and proportion, the spatial design of two- and three-dimensional works but, above all, the indefatigable spirit of invention and creative drive of two of the most important living artists.

Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König
Ed. Arnulf Rainer Museum
200 pages
Köln 2015
ISBN: 978-3-86335-778-8
Preis: € 39,80

Georg Baselitz / Arnulf Rainer

LUSTSPIEL. New Works from the Studios

The biographies of Georg Baselitz and Arnulf Rainer as artists are different. But there is one similarity: they are painters by nature and the vitality of their ‘style’ has always, in many different ways, been important. The catalogue to accompany the exhibition of the same name is dedicated to their most recent works. These works are are fresh and vital, and the astounding freeness of their current production is very similar in both artists. They seem to really enjoy what they are doing, to have a lust for it, which is the reason that curator Rudi Fuchs chose ‘Lustspiel’ as the title for the show. With text by Rudi Fuchs.

Kerber Verlag  
Arnulf Rainer Museum
96 pages
Bielefeld 2011
ISBN 978 3 86678 550 2

Price: € 20,00

Arnulf Rainer

Kreuz

The cross can convey the meaning

Crosses are a central theme, in many different senses, within Arnulf Rainer's work. As a dominant presence, they appear in every phase and series, a subject that the artist keeps coming back to. He himself describes the use of the cross as a technique that can easily silence and becalm a work: and nothing else challenges him so much, or produces in him such ‘feverish work and flow’.

This book is dedicated to this important theme within the work of Arnulf Rainer, with text by the artist accompanying numerous works on paper featuring the famous Bretterkreuze and large Holzkreuze. With text by Reinhold Baumstark and Arnulf Rainer (German and English).

DuMont Buchverlag 
Arnulf Rainer Museum
184 pages
Cologne 2010
ISBN 978 3 8321 9335 5

Price: € 18,00

Arnulf Rainer

Metamorphosen [Repertoire]

‘There are (six) simple colours. The first of these is white although some philosophers count neither black nor white among the colours and assert that one is the origin of colours and the other their lack. But we include them because painters cannot get along without them and, having named white the first of the simple colours, call yellow the second, green the third, blue the fourth, red the fifth and black the sixth. And white stands for light without which one can see no colour, yellow for the earth, green for water, blue for the air, red for fire and black for darkness that stands above fire because there is no material there, nothing solid on which the rays of the sun might fall and, as a consequence, illuminate.’ 

With text by Helmut Friedel.

Ed. Arnulf Rainer Museum
152 pages
Baden 2017
ISBN: 978-3-200-05087-7

Preis: € 30,00

Arnulf Rainer

Durcheinander / Commotion

This volume combines Damien Hirst's (born 1965) series Two Weeks One Summer with selected works by Arnulf Rainer (born 1929). Hirst's expressionistic still lifes from 2008 to 2012 are set in dialogue with Rainer's energetic finger paintings, the Face Farces and overpaintings from the early 1950s.

Damian Hirst: Arnulf Rainer. Durcheinander / Commotion
Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König
Hrsg. Arnulf Rainer Museum
104 pages
German/ English
Köln 2014
ISBN: 978-3-86335-568-5
Preis: € 28,-

Mario Merz, Arnulf Rainer

DEEP WIDE [FRAGMENTS]

For the first time since they appeared together in 1982 at the international exhibition of art – documenta VII in Kassel – works by Arnulf Rainer and Mario Merz are juxtaposed again in DEEP WIDE [FRAGMENTS], under the stewardship of internationally renowned creator of exhibitions Rudi Fuchs.

Arnulf Rainer's large-format paintings and the spacious installations and sculptures by Mario Merz tell a shared story, despite their many formal differences. It's the story of a search for the utmost in artistic integrity, authenticity and freedom.

Published by Walther König
German, English and partly Italian
136 pages
Cologne 2013
ISBN 978-3-86335-382-7

Price: € 25,00

Arnulf Rainer

VISAGES

The catalogue is about Arnulf Rainer's long-term engagement with his own face, his interest in death masks and his revisiting of faces from art history, from antiquity to the late nineteenth century.

Arnulf Rainer uses his face as a Tabula Rasa, like a foundation on which he develops an art that is on the one hand free of conventions and on the other hand seeks to reestablish the lost connection between art and life. With text by Jean‐Michel Foray and Arnulf Rainer (German and English).

DuMont Buchverlag
Arnulf Rainer Museum
32 pages
Cologne 2011
ISBN 978 3 8321 9370 6

Price: € 18,00

Arnulf Rainer

Anfang

For the first time, this catalogue takes a look at Arnulf Rainer's influential early works. Works from 1947 to the end of the 1950s give an overview, from the surrealist representational drawings to the first phase of the world-famous overpaintings and cross works. With text by Arnulf Rainer (German and English).

DuMont Buchverlag  
Arnulf Rainer Museum
212 pages
Cologne 2009
ISBN 978 3 8321 9262 4

Price: € 18,00

Arnulf Rainer Museum

Museum

Josefsplatz 5
2500 Baden
Austria
Tel +43(0)2252 209 196 11
Fax +43(0)2252 209 196 14

Postal address

Badener Kulturbetriebsgesmbh
Kaiser Franz Josef-Ring 31
2500 Baden
Austria

Directions

Tram (Badener Bahn)

www.wlb.at
Direct, from the Vienna State Opera
to the Arnulf Rainer Museum, to
Josefplatz at the end of the line.

Train and rapid transit train

www.oebb.at
Four minutes on foot from Baden
station, towards the centre of town.

Car

A2 Baden exit – towards the centre,
Arnulf Rainer Museum / Frauenbad.
Parking at Römertherme or at the
Casino parking garage.

Googlemaps

Opening hours

Every day from 10am – 5pm
Contact us for more details.

Admission prices

Adults 6,–
Reduced 4,–
Groups of 6 or over,
per person
4,–
Children from 6 – 14,
pupils, students,
military discount (national service)
3,–
Family ticket 12,–
Family ticket reduced 10,–
Guided tour 2,50

Newsletter

Our newsletter keeps you up to date
with new exhibitions and events, as
well as tours and other museum
activities.
All data is treated confidentially.
By filling out and submitting this
form, you confirm that you have
read and consent to our
data privacy statement.

The newsletter can be cancelled at
any time.

Text
> Slideshow

Subscribe to our newsletter.

Our newsletter provides you with information about new exhibitions and events, as well as guided tours and other museum activities. Your data will be treated confidentially and will not be passed on to any other company or organisation.

By filling out and submitting this form, you confirm that you have read and consent to our data privacy statement.

You can revoke this consent at any time and unsubscribe from our newsletter.

Shop

KATALOGE

Für Bibliomane und Autonome.
Wegbegleiter, Freunde, Kollegen, Inspirationen, Zeitgeist, Kunst.

Unsere Publikationen begleiten und erweitern unser Ausstellungsprogramm. Jeder Katalog ist ein Kunstwerk für sich und bietet die Möglichkeit noch einmal einzutauchen in Arnulf Rainers vielfätlige Bilderwelt. Die zahlreichen Texte des Künstlers und der Kuratoren, ermöglichen eine intensive Auseinandersetzung mit dem Werk des Ausnahmekünstlers.

Öffnungszeiten SHOP täglich von 10 bis 17 Uhr
Anfragen & Bestellungen: +43 2252 209196/11 bzw.

DONALD JUDD & ARNULF RAINER

Kanten Winkel Linien Kurven / Arbeiten auf Papier

Die Ausstellung zeigt das druckgrafische Werk der beiden großen Künstler Donald Judd und Arnulf Rainer in konzentriertem Dialog. Vor allem die Intimität der Radierungen und Holzschnitte bringt die künstlerischen Haltungen mit großer Klarheit zum Vorschein: Donald Judd strebt nach präziser Ausgewogenheit und sucht stets die perfekte Balance zwischen Farbe, Linie, Fläche und Form. Arnulf Rainers Schaffen hingegen ist geprägt von energisch bewegtem Strich und fließenden Farben. Beiden gemein ist die stete Suche nach neuen Wegen für ihre Kunst und ihre andauernde Auseinandersetzung mit druckgrafischen Medien.

Mit Texten von Rudi Fuchs und Arnulf Rainer.

DONALD JUDD & ARNULF RAINER – Kanten Winkel Linien Kurven / Arbeiten auf Papier
Hrsg.: Arnulf Rainer Museum
104 Seiten, 135 Farbabbildungen
Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König, Köln
ISBN 978-3-96098-392-7

Preis: € 32,-

Arnulf Rainer

Metamorphosen [Repertoire]

Begleitend zur Ausstellung:
ARNULF RAINER: Neue Arbeiten auf Papier
31. März bis 30. Juli 2017 | Lentos Kunstmuseum Linz

Die neuen, erstmals ausgestellten, vorwiegend in Teneriffa entstandenen Arbeiten sind farbintensiv und lebensfroh. Sie wirken delikat oder wild, manchmal verrückt, nahezu erleuchtet. Die Spannung zwischen Malgrund und Übermalung, das Ausloten von Licht, Farbe, Gestik und Format ist für Rainer eine nie endende künstlerische Herausforderung. Waren früher meist expressive, häufig schwarze Bilder voll Unruhe und Zweifel an der Tagesordnung, sind die jüngsten Arbeiten vergleichsweise heiter, zart, von meditativer Leuchtkraft und Imagination.

Hrsg. Arnulf Rainer Museum & Lentos Kunstmuseum Linz

Mit Textbeiträgen von Rudi Fuchs und einem Vorwort von Elisabeth Nowak-Thaller

216 Seiten
Baden 2017
ISBN: 978-3-200-05035-8

Preis: € 28,00

Markus Lüpertz / Arnulf Rainer

BILDENDE Kunst

Der Titel der Ausstellung verweist auf die Tatsache, dass es in Anbetracht des Œuvres der beiden Künstler im faktischen, wie im übertragenen Sinne richtig ist, von „bildender“ Kunst zu sprechen. Diese bewusste Doppeldeutigkeit beschreibt treffend die vielschichtige Wirkungsweise der Werke von Markus Lüpertz und Arnulf Rainer. In der Ausstellung wird das Bild durch die plastische Form ‚belästigt‘ und das orchestrierte Miteinander der Gattungen ermöglicht dem Besucher eine sehr direkte Annäherung an das Wesen der Kunst: den Einsatz von Farbe und Material, die Form- und Proportionsfindung, die räumliche Inszenierung von zwei- mit dreidimensionalen Werken, aber vor allem den unermüdlichen Erfindungsgeist und Schaffensdrang von zwei der bedeutendsten lebenden Künstler.

Mit Texten von Rudi Fuchs, Stefan Skowron
Vorwort von Rüdiger Andorfer

Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König
Hrsg. Arnulf Rainer Museum
200 Seiten
Köln 2015
ISBN: 978-3-86335-778-8
Preis: € 39,80

Georg Baselitz / Arnulf Rainer

LUSTSPIEL. Neues aus dem Atelier

Die künstlerische Geschichte von Georg Baselitz und Arnulf Rainer ist unterschiedlich. Eine Ähnlichkeit gibt es doch: Sie sind Maler aus Veranlagung und die Lebendigkeit ihrer "Handschrift" war auf vielfältige Weise immer wichtig. Der Katalog zur gleichnamigen Ausstellung widmet sich ihren jüngst entstandenen Arbeiten, die frisch und lebhaft sind. Die erstaunliche Freiheit ihrer aktuellen Produktion ist den beiden Künstlern sehr ähnlich. Sie scheinen sich in ihrem Tun wirklich zu vergnügen, weshalb Kurator Rudi Fuchs auch den Titel "Lustspiel" für diese Werkschau gewählt hatte. Mit Textbeiträgen von Rudi Fuchs.

Kerber Verlag  
Hrsg. Arnulf Rainer Museum
96 Seiten
Bielefeld 2011
ISBN 978 3 86678 550 2

Preis: € 18,00

Arnulf Rainer

Kreuz

Das Motiv des Kreuzes nimmt in mehrfacher Hinsicht eine zentrale Position im Werk von Arnulf Rainer ein. Als auffällige Grundfigur findet es sich in allen Werkphasen und Serien; ein Sujet, auf das der Künstler immer wieder zurückgreift. Er selbst bezeichnet die Verwendung des Kreuzmotivs als ein bestens geeignetes Verfahren, ein Bild verstummen und bewegungslos werden zu lassen; nichts anderes fordere ihn so sehr heraus und bringe ihn so in "Arbeitswut und Fleiß".

Der vorliegende Band widmet sich diesem großen Thema im Werk von Arnulf Rainer, Texte des Künstlers begleiten neben zahlreichen Papierarbeiten die berühmten Bretterkreuze und großen Holzkreuze. Mit Textbeiträge von Reinhold Baumstark und Arnulf Rainer (dt./engl.)

DuMont Buchverlag 
Hrsg. Arnulf Rainer Museum
184 Seiten
Köln 2010
ISBN 978 3 8321 9335 5

Preis: € 18,00

Arnulf Rainer

Die Farben des Malers

In seinem Traktat über die Malerei zählt Leonardo da Vinci sechs Farben auf, die dem Maler zur Verfügung stehen; neben den Buntfarben Gelb, Rot, Blau und Grün, auch Schwarz und Weiß.

In der Werkauswahl für die aktuelle Austellung geht es darum aufzuzeigen, dass mit den "sechs Farben der Maler" jeweils ganz besondere emotionale Qualitäten zum Klingen gebracht werden. Da die jeweiligen Farben zwar dominant sind, das Bildgeschehen aber nie absolut bestimmen, tritt das Spezifische jeder Farbe deutlicher ins Rampenlicht. Im Nebeneinander von Bildern aus verschiedenen Entstehungsjahren und durch die recht differierende Art der jeweiligen Bearbeitung ergeben sich Abstufungen der emotionalen Qualitäten von Weiß, Gelb, Grün, Blau, Rot und Schwarz.  

Mit Zitaten von Arnulf Rainer und einem Vorwort von Kurator Helmut Friedel

Hrsg. Arnulf Rainer Museum
152 Seiten
Baden 2017
ISBN: 978-3-200-05087-7

Preis: € 30,00

Damian Hirst: Arnulf Rainer.

Durcheinander / Commotion

Dieser Band kombiniert Damien Hirst (geb. 1965) Serie Two Weeks One Summer mit ausgewählten Werken von Arnulf Rainer (geb. 1929). Die expressionistischen Stilleben von Hirst von 2008 bis 2012 werden im Dialog mit den energetischen Finger- und Fußmalereien von Rainer, den Face-Farces und den Übermalungen aus den frühen 1950er Jahren gesetzt.

Damian Hirst: Arnulf Rainer. Durcheinander / Commotion
Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König
Hrsg. Arnulf Rainer Museum
104 Seiten
Deutsch/ Englisch
Köln 2014
ISBN: 978-3-86335-568-5
Preis: € 28,-

 

Mario Merz, Arnulf Rainer

Tiefe Weite [Fragmente]

Erstmals nach ihrem gemeinsamen Auftritt 1982 bei der Weltausstellung der Kunst - der documenta VII in Kassel - werden Werke Arnulf Rainers und Mario Merz' in der Ausstellung TIEFE WEITE [FRAGMENTE) wieder unter der Regie des international renommierten Ausstellungsmachers Rudi Fuchs einander gegenüber gestellt.

Die großformatigen Gemälde Arnulf Rainers und die raumgreifenden Installationen und Bildobjekte Mario Merz' erzählen trotz all ihrer formalen Unterschiede eine gemeinsame Geschichte: jene von der Suche nach größtmöglicher künstlerischer Integrität, Authentizität und Freiheit.

Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König
dt., engl., teilweise it.
136 Seiten
Köln 2013
ISBN 978-3-86335-382-7

Preis: € 25,00

Arnulf Rainer

VISAGES

Der Katalog bezeugte die lange Auseinandersetzung Arnulf Rainers mit dem eigenen Gesicht, sein Interesse an Totenmasken und die Wiederaufnahme von Gesichtern aus der Kunstgeschichte, von der Antike bis zum späten 19. Jahrhundert.

Arnulf Rainer bediente sich seines Gesichts als Tabula Rasa, gleich einem Fundament, mit dem er eine Kunst entwickelt, die einerseits frei von Konventionen ist und andererseits die verlorene Verbindung zwischen Kunst und Leben wiederherzustellen vermag. Mit Textbeiträgen von Jean‐Michel Foray und Arnulf Rainer (dt./engl.)

DuMont Buchverlag
Hrsg. Arnulf Rainer Museum
132 Seiten
Köln 2011
ISBN 978 3 8321 9370 6

Preis: € 18,00

Arnulf Rainer

Anfang

Erstmalig wird in diesem Katalog das einflussreiche Frühwerk Arnulf Rainers beleuchtet. Arbeiten von 1947 bis Ende der 1950er Jahre geben einen Überblick beginnend bei den surrealistisch-gegenständlichen Zeichnungen, bis hin zur ersten Phase der weltberühmten Übermalungen und Kreuzarbeiten. Mit Textbeiträge von Arnulf Rainer (dt./engl.).

DuMont Buchverlag  
Hrsg. Arnulf Rainer Museum 
212 Seiten
Köln 2009
ISBN 978 3 8321 9262 4

Preis: € 18,00

Arnulf Rainer Museum

Museum

Josefsplatz 5
2500 Baden
Österreich
Tel +43(0)2252 209 196 11
Fax +43(0)2252 209 196 14

Postanschrift

Badener Kulturbetriebsgesmbh
Kaiser Franz Josef-Ring 31
2500 Baden
Österreich

Anfahrt

Badener Bahn

www.wlb.at
Von der Wiener Staatsoper direkt
ins Arnulf Rainer Museum, End-
station Josefsplatz.

Zug und Schnellbahn

www.oebb.at
4 Min. zu Fuß von der Station
Baden Richtung Zentrum.

Auto

A2 Abfahrt Baden – Richtung
Zentrum, Arnulf Rainer Museum /
Frauenbad. Parkmöglichkeiten im
Parkdeck Römertherme oder im
Parkhaus Casino.

Googlemaps

Öffnungszeiten

Täglich von 10.00 bis 17.00 Uhr
Nähere Informationen bitte unter Kontakt anfordern.

Eintrittspreise

Erwachsene 6,–
Ermäßigt 4,–
Gruppen ab 6 Personen,
pro Person
4,–
Kinder von 6 bis 14 Jahren
Schüler, Studenten,
Präsenzdiener
3,–
FamilienKarte 12,–
FamilienKarte ermäßigt 10,–
Führungsticket 2,50

Newsletter

Bleiben Sie über neue Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen, sowie über Führungen und weitere Aktivitäten informiert.
Ihre Daten werden von uns ver-
traulich behandelt. Durch Aus-
füllen und Abschicken dieses
Formulars bestätigen Sie, dass Sie
unsere Datenschutzbestimmungen
gelesen haben und sich mit diesen
einverstanden erklären.

Den Newsletter können Sie jeder-
zeit wieder abbestellen.

Text
> Slideshow

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

Unser Newsletter informiert Sie über neue Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen, sowie über Führungen und weitere Aktivitäten vom Museum. Ihre Daten werden von uns vertraulich behandelt und nicht an Dritte weitergegeben.

Durch Ausfüllen und Abschicken dieses Formulars bestätigen Sie, dass sie unsere Datenschutzbestimmungen gelesen haben und sich mit diesen einverstanden erklären.

Diese Einwilligung können Sie jederzeit widerrufen und den Newsletter abbestellen.